Mo Freitas Wins 2016 Da Hui Shootout Pipeline SUP Invitational

Mo Freitas standing tall on a beauty at Backdoor. | Photo Courtesy: Waterman League Mo Freitas standing tall on a beauty at Backdoor. | Photo Courtesy: Waterman League

OAHU, Hawaii - Mo Freitas wins the Da Hui Shootout SUP Invitational in Memory of Duke Kahanamoku with a gutsy performance at Pipeline. Mo Freitas (Focus SUP) put on an impressive and fearless performance this morning at Pipeline to take the win at the Da Hui Shootout in Memory of Duke Kahanamoku.

With two preliminary heats to decide the final, we saw standout performances from the eventual winner Mo Freitas, but also Zane Schweitzer (Starboard), Bernd Roediger (Naish), Bullet Obra and Keali'i Mamala. Also making their presences felt were Kainoa McGee and the replacement for Kai Lenny (Naish) who was unfortunately unable to compete due to a delayed flight over from Maui this morning, a local favorite, Pomai Hoapili from right here on the North Shore.

In the final heat, Mo Freitas (Focus SUP) navigated the tricky line up to pull into the most consequential waves of the day, standing tall to take the win. Zane Schweitzer (Starboard) also put on a memorable performance, posting the highest single score of the heat to take second, with a beautiful barrel, followed by the ever impressive Bullet Obra, charging his way into 3rd.

Here are the final standings from today's Final:

1. Mo Freitas
2. Zane Schweitzer
3. Bullet Obra
4. Keali'i Mamala
5. Pomai Hoapili
6. Kainoa McGee

Check out the highlights video from the SUP action below!

Want to check out more SUP Surfing? Click HERE.

Last modified onThursday, 07 January 2016 11:43

Submit your news, events, and all SUP info, so we can keep promoting and driving the great lifestyle of stand up paddling, building its community, and introducing people to healthier living.

Website: supconnect.com Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.