Jay Moriarity Memorial Paddleboard Race

Today, Surftech will crown its 10th Annual Jay Race champion in Capitola Beach, CA.


Paddlers battle for position as life guards keep a close watch.


Post pictures of today's paddle race.


Visit the event website for more.



Visit the event website for more.

Santa Cruz, California - With summer in full swing, paddlers have been training hard for what will be one of the most competitive paddle events of the year. Today, Surftech will crown its 10th Annual Jay Race champion in Capitola Beach, CA.

As preparation for the Molokai-2-Oahu race next month, eight-time M2O champion Kanesa Duncan Seraphin (Kauai, HI) will travel to California to compete in today’s race. "The Jay Race will be a great opportunity for me to race against a very competitve field leading up to the Molokai race" said Kanesa.

Today's competition will feature a diverse group of competitors. Many athletes who are known for their stand up paddling skills have chosen to race traditional paddleboards. We may be surprised to see just how competitive these normally upright paddlers will be racing in the traditional style.

The Jay Race brings well known athletes from both inside and outside the paddleboard community to compete for the coveted Jay Race title. One most notable athlete is IRONMAN champion, Chris Lieto (Danville, CA) who will be competing in this year's race. "I'm looking forward to being a part of such a great competition. I may be at the top of my game in Ironman and use paddling as a great workout to keep my body strong, but these athletes are at a completely different level in what they do. I have lots of respect for these guys, and I am honored to be included in this community." - Chris Lieto

Athletes to watch for will be four-time Jay Race winner, Gary Fortune (Los Angeles, CA), 2010 Jay Race winner Anthony Vela (Palos Verdes, CA), 2009 winner Craig Waltz (Santa Cruz, CA), 2010 Women's winner, Maya Sprinsock (Santa Cruz, CA), 2010 Women's SUP winner, Morgan Hoestery (Honolulu, HI), three-time Battle of the Paddle champ Candice Appleby (San Clemente, CA), 2010 UL SUP winner Tony Meuller (Santa Cruz, CA) and 2010 Stock SUP winner, Mike Vaughan (Santa Monica, CA).


Event Schedule
5:30 am   - Race-day registration & check-in for those pre-registered
8:00 am   - Jay Moriarity Ceremony (featuring special guest speaker TBA)
8:30 am   - Long Course paddleboard race start
8:40 am   - Long Course SUP race start
8:50 am   - Short Course race start
11:00 am  - Kids Races
12:00 pm  - Covewater SUP Relay race
3:00 pm    - Crows Nest After Party, Crows Nest Restaurant, Santa Cruz Yacht Harbor


What SUP races are you looking forward to?


Last modified onFriday, 24 June 2011 23:55
Morgan Becker

After spending the first part of her life in Minnesota, Morgan traded in her snow boots for sandals and moved to sunny California. After graduating with a degree in Communication from The University of Southern California, she eventually made her way down south to San Diego and is taking advantage of the living by the best beaches and burritos California has to offer. If it’s sunny, you can find her at the beach relaxing, or exploring the calm water in the bay via paddleboards and kayaks.

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.